Nominate a food security hero

Do you know a ‘food security hero’? The Crawford Fund is seeking nominations for the highly esteemed Derek Tribe Award. This Award is made biennially to a citizen of a developing country in recognition of their distinguished contributions to the application of research in agriculture or natural resource management in a developing country or countries.

The Crawford Fund Derek Tribe Award was inaugurated in 2001 to mark the outstanding contributions of Emeritus Professor Derek Tribe AO OBE FTSE, Foundation Director of the Crawford Fund, to the promotion of international agricultural research.

The winner of the award will visit Australia to encourage networks and linkages between their home institution and country with similar bodies and individuals here. During the visit, the recipient will deliver the much-anticipated Crawford Fund Derek Tribe Award Address.

The closing date for nominations is Monday 07 February 2022.

Dr Colin Chartres, CEO, Crawford Fund presents Dr Robert Zougmoré with the 2019 Derek Tribe Medal. Photo: CGIAR.

The winner of the 2022 Derek Tribe Award will be in fine company with the most recent past winners including:

  • Dr Robert Zougmoré
    Program Management Committee, Regional Program Leader, CGIAR Research Program on Climate Change, Agriculture and Food Security
    In recognition for the distinguished contributions he has made in building climate resilience into farming practices across sub-Saharan Africa, yielding significant outcomes for millions of rural people on the front line of climate change impact.
  • Dr R. K. Malik
    Senior Agronomist with the International Maize and Wheat Improvement Centre’s (CIMMYT) Sustainable Intensification Program
    In recognition of his 30+ years of research and development in improving productivity and sustainability of rice-wheat cropping systems, and thus the livelihoods of millions of smallholder farmers, in the Indo-Gangetic Plains. To view CIMMYT’s press release about Dr Malik’s award recognition click here.
  • Dr Murom Banabas
    Head of Agronomy at the PNG Oil Palm Research Association
    In recognition of his 22 years of research and technical assistance dedicated to improving the sustainability and productivity of the oil palm industry in PNG.

For more information about Derek Tribe and the Crawford Fund, click here.

For more information contact Prof Shaun Coffey, Director of Capacity Building, The Crawford Fund – [email protected]

The Derek Tribe Award Terms and Conditions are available here and include a link to the online application form.