Crawford Fund Medal

The Crawford Fund’s success is based on people: trainees and trainers who are seeking to make an enduring contribution to global food security. Their commitment and perseverance, often over long periods, mark the Fund out as a unique contributor. Many go unnoticed and their contributions unheralded.

Accordingly, in 2010 the Crawford Fund decided to recognise people who have made a considerable and continued contribution to international agricultural research through our programs and related activities. Each year, on the recommendation of State and Territory Committees, medals are awarded to a limited number of people.

2019 Medal awardee

Professor Lindsay Falvey FTSE FAIAS
For remaining practically and passionately committed, for over four decades, to the international contributions agricultural science makes to food security.

2018 Medal awardee

Dr Bob Clements AO
For his extensive and continuing contributions to international agricultural research

2015 Medal awardee

Dr Meryl Williams FTSE
Vice Chair Scientific Advisory Committee of the International Seafood Sustainability Foundation and member of the board of Aquaculture without Frontiers (Australia)

2014 Medal awardee

Assoc. Prof. Robyn Alders AO
Principal Research Fellow in the Faculty of Veterinary Science at the University of Sydney

2013 Medal awardee

Professor Emeritus Robert (Bob) Gilkes
Former Winthrop Professor of Soil Science and Adjunct Senior Lecturer, School of Earth and Environment at the University of Western Australia

2012 Medal awardees

Professor Lester Burgess
Honorary Professor in the Faculty of Agriculture and Environment and Dean of Agriculture, University of Sydney

Dr John Schiller
Honorary Research Fellow, School of Agriculture and Food Sciences, University of Queensland