VIC Committee

The Victorian program, established in 1995, enjoys strong support from the Victorian Government and the private sector for its training activities in crop production, the dairy industry, education and animal health. The Victorian Program has adopted a strategy of selecting and concentrating on projects which will provide cumulative ongoing benefit to developing country agriculture by running programs which build on experience year on year for up to three years.

This, however, does not prevent us from seizing opportunities for valuable ad hoc training when appropriate. Major crop programs have included cocoa in Vietnam and Papua New Guinea (PNG), potatoes in PNG, dairy hygiene in Malaysia and Indonesia, animal health in Nepal and an ongoing relationship with the Royal National University of Bhutan where we helped to set up a bachelor of agriculture degree course and training in research techniques in agriculture. Victorian scientists and technologists have welcomed the opportunities to interact with colleagues and students to help them lift agricultural production in developing countries, while at the same time enhancing the scientific capacity of their own agencies through networking and exchanging knowledge and ideas on food and fibre production.

Additionally we are now making greater use of valuable Australian facilities such as the National Grains Genebank and the Australian Animal Health Laboratory, both based in Victoria. We will be looking for opportunities to increase training in plant biosecurity to complement the work we are already doing in animal biosecurity. A brochure summarising our activities is available here.

Crawford Fund Victoria Student Awards


Congratulations to the 22 successful applicants from around Australia who received our 2019 awards to experience international agricultural research and development first hand. The Victorian awardees were:

Jesse Beasley, University of Melbourne
Location: Mexico
Research: A Global Wheat Breeding Partnership to Develop Iron and Zinc Biofortified Bread Wheat, linking University of Melbourne and CIMMYT Wheat Biofortification Programs
Institute: International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center

Cassandra Davitt, University of Melbourne
Location: Mongolia
Research: Are Bankhar dogs a reservoir (or sentinel) host for canine vector borne diseases in Mongolia?
Project ID: 1814429
Institute: Mongolian University of Life Sciences

Peter Richardson, University of Melbourne
Location: Myanmar
Research: Improving livestock production through research for development in the Central Dry Zone of Myanmar
Project ID: LH/2014/056 (ACIAR) – Improving Farmer Livelihoods by Developing Market Orientated Small Ruminant Production Systems in Myanmar
Institute: University of Veterinary Science, Myanmar

Lily Tran, La Trobe University
Location: Vietnam
Research: Real time field based molecular detection of Fasciola spp. in low resource settings, Ecological control of Liver Flukes: defining the local situations and training in ecological tools and concepts 
Institute: National Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory Vietnam; Department of Animal Health, Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development

Victorian Committee in the News


Victoria Crawford Fund Scholars: 2019 Annual Conference

Each year, the Crawford Fund Committees offer Conference Scholarships for students and young researchers to attend the annual conference. The Scholarship provides funds to cover expenses such as travel, accommodation and registration.

We’re excited to announce our bumper crop of 51  2019 Annual Conference scholarship winners from universities and organisations across Australia. This takes our conference scholar alumni to almost 320 young students and researchers and industry representatives with an interest in reshaping agriculture to better address food security, the nutritional needs of a growing population, and the environment.

The 2019 conference scholars from Victoria are listed below. You can read about their experiences here.

Nickala Best, LaTrobe University
Lily Tran, LaTrobe University
Antoinette Wichmann, University of Melbourne (FVAS)

Natasha de Bondi, The University of Melbourne (FVAS)
Josephine Ginty, The University of Melbourne (FVAS)

Emma Taylor

John Humphrey