WA Committee


Established in 1995 with support from the Government of Western Australia and the private sector, the Western Australian Program invites submissions for training developing country workers in any field where WA expertise can make a significant contribution to food production. We especially seek projects for training Indonesian, African and Middle Eastern workers in plant breeding, pasture and animal production, grain storage, salinity problems, plant nutrition and fisheries management.

Western Australian farmers have benefited from the support provided to developing country trainees by acquiring valuable plant germplasm—Biserrula from Morocco, anthracnose resistant albus lupin from Ethiopia, and black spot resistant field pea from Russia—through the scientific network that the training courses have established. In addition, training in pest and disease diagnosis and control is reducing risks of introducing plant and animal diseases, and problems arising from faulty diagnosis of diseases in products that are exported from and imported into Australia. Commercial enterprises have benefited from their partnership with the Crawford Fund to support training projects for importers in the efficient use of their products, reducing marketing risks, and enhancing their image as good corporate citizens.

We invite new participants for projects on the basis that WA commerce will be “doing well by doing good.” A brochure summarising our activities is available here.

2019 Crawford Fund WA Student Awards

As part of our efforts to support and encourage the next generation in study, careers and volunteering in international agricultural research, the Crawford Fund proudly supports our Student Awards. Our Student Awards have been developed specifically to enable university students with practical, feet-on-the-ground, involvement in an overseas project as part of their studies.

In Western Australia, the awards are open to Honours and Postgraduate students from WA interested in gaining international agricultural research experience in developing countries.

The winners of our 2019 Student Award Recipients have been announced, congratulations to the 22 successful students from around Australia will soon experience international agricultural research and development first hand.

Congratulations to our 2019 International Student Award Recipients!

Daniel Waterhouse, Murdoch Australia
Location: Myanmar
Research: The Potential of Insects as a Sustainable Feed Option for the Aquaculture, Pork and Poultry Sectors in Myanmar
Institute: Spectrum – Sustainable Development Knowledge Network

International Training and Agriculture Awards

The Crawford Fund and its State programs support the training of international scientists and extension officers in agricultural development. The Western Australia Committee offers the opportunity for developing country scientists to work specifically with WA-based institutions in international agricultural research (IAR).

In addition, the committee offers an award for a young Western Australian honours or postgraduate student to add an international component to their work. This initiative aims to facilitate active student participation in IAR projects in order to help them gain valuable experience and expertise.

The two types of awards are ‘International Training’ and a ‘Student International Agricultural Award’. For each of these opportunities, the WA Crawford Fund Committee puts out a call for a new round of applications. Further information can be found here, and obtained from the WA Coordinator Dr James Ridsdill-Smith (james.ridsdill-smith (at) crawfordfund (dot) org).

Training Activities and Events

The Western Australian Committee is involved in a range of training activities, such as managing stored grain pests, safe herbicide use and biosecurity; and events to provide networking opportunities for younger researchers.

Here are some examples:

WA Crawford Fund Scholars: 2019 Annual Conference

Each year, the Crawford Fund Committees offer Conference Scholarships for students and young researchers to attend the annual conference. The Scholarship provides funds to cover expenses such as travel, accommodation and registration.

We’re excited to announce our bumper crop of 51  2019 Annual Conference scholarship winners from universities and organisations across Australia. This takes our conference scholar alumni to almost 320 young students and researchers and industry representatives with an interest in reshaping agriculture to better address food security, the nutritional needs of a growing population, and the environment.

The 2019 conference scholars from WA are listed below. You can read about their experiences here.

Wesley Moss, University of Western Australia 

Duncan Wells, Curtin University

Riley Faulds, University of Western Australia
Isabella Suleski, University of Western Australia