Derek Tribe Award

The Crawford Fund Derek Tribe Award was inaugurated in 2001 to mark the outstanding contributions of Emeritus Professor Derek Tribe AO OBE FTSE, Foundation Director of the Crawford Fund, to the promotion of international agricultural research. For more information about Derek Tribe and the Crawford Fund, click here.

The Derek Tribe Award is made biennially to a citizen of a developing country in recognition of their distinguished contributions to the application of research in agriculture or natural resource management in a developing country or countries.

The winner of the award will undertake a visit of about two weeks to agricultural centres in Australia with the intention of enhancing networking and linkages between the recipient’s home institution and country with similar bodies and individuals in Australia. During the visit, the recipient will attend a seminar, or other public event nominated by The Crawford Fund, to receive the Award and to deliver The Crawford Fund Derek Tribe Award Address.

Past Recipients of the Derek Tribe Award

Dr Lisa-Maria Rebelo
Lead Scientist at Digital Earth Africa and Principal Researcher, Earth Observation for Sustainable Development at the International Water Management Institute in Sri Lanka
In recognition of her work across the African continent, and in South and Southeast Asia, in water productivity, remote sensing, natural resource management, wetland monitoring and assessment, basin water accounting and water productivity.

Dr Robert Zougmoré
Program Management Committee, Regional Program Leader, CGIAR Research Program on Climate Change, Agriculture and Food Security
In recognition for the distinguished contributions he has made in building climate resilience into farming practices across sub-Saharan Africa, yielding significant outcomes for millions of rural people on the front line of climate change impact.

Dr R. K. Malik
Senior Agronomist with the International Maize and Wheat Improvement Centre’s (CIMMYT) Sustainable Intensification Program
In recognition of his 30+ years of research and development in improving productivity and sustainability of rice-wheat cropping systems, and thus the livelihoods of millions of smallholder farmers, in the Indo-Gangetic Plains. To view CIMMYT’s press release about this year’s award recipient click here.

Dr Murom Banabas
Head of Agronomy at the PNG Oil Palm Research Association
In recognition of his 22 years of research and technical assistance dedicated to improving the sustainability and productivity of the oil palm industry in PNG.

Prof Siti Subandiyah
Faculty of Agriculture, Universitas Gadjah Mada, Yogyakarta, Indonesia
In recognition of her high dedication to research and education in the field of agriculture. Prof Subandiyah has focused on reducing impacts of plant diseases on horticultural crops, particularly the impacts of huanglongbing (citrus greening) on citrus and wilt diseases of banana.

Prof Dr Ketut Sugama
Director Seed Development, Directorate General of Aquaculture, Jakarta, Indonesia
In recognition of his outstanding work and leadership in the field of aquaculture.

Dr Ismail Cakmak
Professor at Sabanci University, Istanbul, Turkey
In recognition of his outstanding work and leadership in identifying zinc deficiency as the underlying cause of poor wheat yields in the calcareous soils of the Central Anatolia in Turkey.

Professor Vo-Tong Xua
Angiang University, Angiang

Dr Luis Salazar
Head of the Plant Protection Department, International Potato Center (CIP), Lima, Peru

Dr Sanjaya Rajaram
Director of the Wheat Program at the International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center (CIMMYT)