NT Committee

The Northern Territory Program was established in April 2002 to provide a Northern Territory focus for the Crawford Fund’s training programs. It aims to increase the number of trained technicians, technologists and scientists in developing countries to undertake useful and effective R&D activities for the improvement of agricultural productivity and food production in these countries. The strategic approach of the Program recognises the need to promote international agricultural research to assist in the alleviation of rural poverty with an emphasis on Southeast Asia, especially East Timor. It also aims to develop linkages between Territory institutions and agriculture and resource conservation specialists in these developing countries to facilitate the transfer of technology and assist in training for rural and regional development.

The Northern Territory Program aims to identify and develop initiatives that make use of local expertise to benefit countries overseas while also creating educational, business and trade opportunities for Northern Territory. Local business people, academics, rural and fishing industry representatives and others are welcome to provide input into the decisions to be made on the program’s focus and priorities for its Northern Territories constituents. A brochure summarising our activities is available here.

Local business people, academics, rural and fishing industry representatives and others are welcome to provide input into the decisions to be made on the program’s focus and priorities for its Northern Territories constituents.

2023 Crawford Fund Student Awards – Northern Territory

As part of our efforts to support and encourage the next generation in study, careers and volunteering in international agricultural research, the Crawford Fund proudly supports our Student Awards. These awards have been developed specifically to enable university students to gain valuable experience and expertise by bringing an international component to their studies and research.

The Crawford Fund 2023  Student Awards are now open!

In the NT, applications are open to undergraduate, honours and postgraduate students interested in gaining international agricultural research experience in developing countries, with a maximum of $5,000 awarded. We strongly recommend you read this general background information before you start your online application. The short online application form will require you to attach a brief CV, the signatures of, or a supporting note from, the authorised officers approving your application, and details of at least one referee.


The closing date for the 2023 Student Awards is COB 15 May 2023.


Congratulations to the 14 successful applicants from around Australia who received our 2022 awards to experience international agricultural research and development first hand.

The NT awardee was:

Lucinda Middleton, Charles Darwin University
Location/Focus: Indonesia
Research: Nutrition-sensitive aquatic food systems: have mangroves been overlooked for their potential to support gendered food and nutrition security in Indonesia?
Other Collaborating Institutions: Partners include Blue Forests and Tanjungpura University (West Kalimantan, Indonesia)

NT Crawford Fund Scholars: 2020 Annual Conference

Each year, the Crawford Fund Committees offer Conference Scholarships for students and young researchers to attend the annual conference. The Scholarship provides funds to cover expenses such as travel, accommodation and registration.

We’re excited to announce our bumper crop of 46 2022 Annual Conference scholarship winners from universities and organisations across Australia, and for the first time, special guest scholars from Papua New Guinea! This takes our conference scholar alumni to almost 370 young students and researchers and industry representatives with an interest in reshaping agriculture to better address food security, the nutritional needs of a growing population, and the environment.

The 2022 conference scholar from NT is listed below.

  • Jane Ray, NT Department of Industry, Tourism and Trade (DITT)
Our NT scholar Jane Ray (second from right) pictured with our inaugural international scholars, Theresa Wambon-Kambuy (left) and Merie Dada Unagi (right) from the Department of Agriculture & Livestock, Papua New Guinea pictured with Maddison Clonan and Helen Garner (Chair) from the NT Committee.

NT Committee in the News