Crawford Fund in NSW

In 1999, the Crawford Fund expanded its agricultural training scheme with the appointment of a New South Wales Committee chaired by Australia’s former Minister for Primary Industry and Energy, the Hon John Kerin. The Committee is identifying and expanding agricultural training opportunities, relevant to the NSW rural sector, that will bring together Australian experts and people from developing countries to improve food production and processing in developing countries.

2019 Crawford Fund NSW Student Awards
As part of our efforts to support and encourage the next generation in study, careers and volunteering in international agricultural research, the Crawford Fund proudly supports our Student Awards. Our Student Awards have been developed specifically to enable university students with practical, feet-on-the-ground, involvement in an overseas project as part of their studies.

In NSW, applications are invited from honours and postgraduate students interested in gaining international agricultural research experience in developing countries. Reports from previous awardees are linked on this page.

Applicants should be enrolled either at Honours Level (following a 3‐year degree course), the fourth year of a four-year degree course, or in a postgraduate degree (Masters or PhD). Priority will be given to Australian nationals and permanent residents.

The award takes the form of a bursary to a maximum value of $4,000 per awardee, and can be used for airfares, other travel costs, accommodation and subsistence, and/or operational research costs.

Applications are now open. The closing date for all awards is Friday, 29 March 2019.

We strongly recommend you read the general background information here before you start your online application.

Apply online here. The short online application form will require you to attach a brief CV, the signatures of, or a supporting note from, the Authorised Officers approving your application, and details of at least one referee. Your health and safety are paramount to us so you will be asked to provide details of relevant arrangements for this purpose too.

Any questions?
Our NSW Coordinator, Hon Associate Professor Helen Scott-Orr PSM, welcomes your inquiries. You can contact her at hscottorr@gmail.com

The requirements of the award include reporting on your experience, both to the funding committee but also for our public awareness campaign. Take a peek at the suggested reporting guidelines here.
Good Luck!

New South Wales Committee Members


  • Coordinator, Hon Associate Professor Helen Scott-Orr PSM
    Australia’s inaugural Inspector-General of Biosecurity
    P: 02 8096 2927
    M: 0439 033 365
  • Dr Robyn Alders AO
    Principal Research Fellow, Faculty of Veterinary Science, University of Sydney
  • Hon Prof Lester Burgess
    Former Dean of Agricultural Science, University of Sydney
  • Dr Neil Inall AM
    Agricultural Commentator
  • Dr Deirdre Lemerle
    Adjunct Professor, Charles Sturt University; Former Director, Graham Centre for Agricultural Innovation CSU
  • Ms Anika Molesworth
    Founder Climatewise Agriculture and International National Trust Organisation – RAID representative
  • Dr Bruce Standen AM
    Former Managing Director Australian Meat and Livestock Corporation
  • Dr. David Godden
    Adjunct Associate Professor
    UNE Business School
    University of New England, Armidale NSW
Training Activities

The current emphasis of the New South Wales Committee’s training programs is in areas having high value to developing countries in the Asian region and in which competence and experience of a very high order resides amongst government agencies and universities within NSW. These include: plant and animal breeding, animal disease diagnosis and preparedness, weed management, social dimensions of agricultural research and extension, natural resource management – land, forestry, fisheries and water, and food safety and preservation.


NSW Crawford Fund Scholars: 2018 Annual Conference

Each year, the Crawford Fund Committees offer Conference Scholarships for students and young researchers to attend the annual conference. The Scholarship provides funds to cover expenses such as travel, accommodation and registration.

The scholars supported by the NSW Committee to attend the Crawford Fund’s 2018 Annual Conference were Harry Campbell-Ross, Isabel MacPhillamy, Cooper Schouten, Rebekah Burns, Matt Champness, Jian Liu, Manisha Kolakshyapati and Ei Mon Thida Kyaw. Read their reflections from the 2018 conference here.