Crawford Fund Fellowship

The Crawford Fund Fellowship was established in 2002 with the generous support of Dr Brian Booth AM FTSE.

The aim of the Fellowship is to provide further training of a scientist in agriculture, fisheries or forestry from a selected group of developing countries, whose work has shown significant potential. The training will take place at an Australian agricultural institution and will emphasise the application of knowledge to increased agricultural production in the Fellow’s home country.

The Fellowship is offered regularly to an agricultural scientist below the age of 35 years who is a citizen of, or who is working in, one the following countries: Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, East Timor, Fiji, Indonesia, Laos, Myanmar, Nepal, Niue, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Kiribati, Vanuatu, Vietnam.

Nominations are now invited for the 2024 Crawford Fund Fellowship

Please note that self-nominations and late nominations will not be accepted.

Nominations must be made by two proposers, one of whom must be an Australian, and should be made on the nomination form available here.

Nominators are encouraged to contact Professor Shaun Coffey ([email protected]) to discuss the application before it is finalised and submitted.

The full terms and conditions for the fellowship are here.

And the required budget proforma for applications can be downloaded here.

Closing date for nominations is Tuesday 30 April 2024 cob 1700 AEST

Recipients of Crawford Fund Fellowships

2019 Dr Sergie Bang
Director-General of the National Agricultural Research Institute of Papua New Guinea

2018 Mr Ha Tien Manh
Researcher at the Vietnamese Academy of Forest Sciences

2017 Mr Kiran Subedi
Deputy Chief Agriculture Officer in the Department of Agriculture, Bhutan

2016 Ms Aye Sandar Phyo
Research Associate at the Asian Institute of Technology, Myanmar

2014 Mr Dinar Hartawan
Veterinary virologist from Indonesia

2013 Mrs Sita Bantha Magar
Agro Enterprise Development Specialist from Nepal

2012  Dr Phousavanh Phouvin
Fisheries Division, Faculty of Agriculture, at the National University of Laos

2011 Ms Vilayphone Sourideth
Maize Breeder, Rice and Cash Crop Research Center (R&CCR), National Agricultural and Forestry Research Institute, Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry, Vientiane, Lao P.D.R.

2010 Ms Le Thi Minh Hangh
Department of Bacteriology, National Institute of Veterinary Research in Hanoi, Vietnam

2008-09 Mr Pin Vannaro
Dean of the Faculty of Agriculture, Maharishi Vedic University, Prey Veng Province, Cambodia

2007 Dr Pham Thi Kim Dung
National Institute of Animal Husbandry Chem-Tu Liem-Hanoi, Vietnam

2006 Mr Havini Vira
Regional Development Department, Ok Tedi Mining Limited, Papua New Guinea

2004 Mr Lal Prasad Amgain
Institute of Agriculture and Animal Sciences, Tribhuvan University, Chitwan, Nepal

2002 Dr Ha Thuy Hanh
National Veterinary Diagnostic Centre, Hanoi, Vietnam