TAS Committee


The Tasmanian program was established in 2011, the last State to do so. With support from the Tasmanian Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Water and Environment, the program addresses training needs identified as part of the wide spectrum of research and development undertaken by Tasmanian-based scientists. A particular feature of the program has been the emphasis on sustainable forestry and fisheries, with a concentration of effort in ACIAR and other projects in those areas undertaken by UTASCSIRO and the Tasmanian Forest Practices Authority.

Tasmanian agriculture is also characterised by diversity, from intensive horticulture and dairying through to mixed cropping and livestock, and that has also been reflected in the programs supported, from pyrethrum and vegetables in PNG through to beef cattle in Vietnam. The Tasmanian Institute of Agriculture has research interests across the value chain from production to market, with particular expertise in intensive production systems based on irrigation. While the Tasmanian environment is temperate, researchers operate in a wide range of tropical lowland and highland environments in the Pacific Islands, PNG, Indonesia, Vietnam and elsewhere. A brochure summarising our activities is available here.

2020 Crawford Fund Tasmania Student Awards

As part of our efforts to support and encourage the next generation in study, careers and volunteering in international agricultural research, the Crawford Fund proudly supports our 2020 Student Awards.  Our Student Awards have been developed specifically to enable university students with practical, feet-on-the-ground, involvement in an overseas project as part of their studies.

In Tasmania, applications are invited from the State’s undergraduate and postgraduate students interested in gaining international agricultural research experience in developing countries. Reports from previous awardees are linked on this page.

We strongly recommend you read this general background information before you start your online application. The short online application form will require you to attach a brief CV, the signatures of, or a supporting note from, the Authorised Officers approving your application, and details of at least one referee. Your health and safety are paramount to us so you will be asked to provide details of relevant arrangements for this purpose too.


With the disruption to the university year caused by COVID-19, we are extending the closing date for our 2020 student awards to Friday 26 June 2020.

Apply online here.

Any questions? Please contact our Tasmanian Coordinator, Dr Neville Mendham. Please email him initially.


Congratulations to the 22 successful applicants from around Australia who are receiving our 2019 awards to experience international agricultural research and development first hand. The TAS awardees are:

Oliver Gales, University of Tasmania
Location: Timor-Leste
Research: Investigation of the development of commercial vegetable and fruit production in Timor-Leste
Institute: The Crawford Fund (Tas) and Market Development Facility Timor Leste

Anna Mackintosh, University of Tasmania
Location: Timor-Leste
Research: Improving maternal and child nutrition through agriculture: designing, implementing and monitoring impactful projects
Institute: Timor-Leste Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries

Tasmanian Committee in the News

Tas Crawford Fund Scholars: 2019 Annual Conference

Each year, the Crawford Fund Committees offer Conference Scholarships for students and young researchers to attend the annual conference. The Scholarship provides funds to cover expenses such as travel, accommodation and registration.

We’re excited to announce our bumper crop of 51  2019 Annual Conference scholarship winners from universities and organisations across Australia. This takes our conference scholar alumni to almost 320 young students and researchers and industry representatives with an interest in reshaping agriculture to better address food security, the nutritional needs of a growing population, and the environment.

Here’s this years scholars supported by the TAS Committee:

  • Faruq Shahriar Isu, University of Tasmania
  • Anna Mackintosh, University of Tasmania
  • Kai Peersman, University of Tasmania
  • Olivia Woodiwiss, University of Tasmania