SA Committee

The South Australian Program was established in July 2000 with generous support from the South Australian Government. It places considerable emphasis on soil and plant research because of the strengths in these areas on the Waite and Roseworthy Campuses which house the Faculty of Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences of the University of Adelaide, the CSIRO Land & Water and the South Australian Research and Development Institute (SARDI).

South Australian research expertise is also strong in animal genetics and nutrition and aquaculture, and these are well suited for participation in Crawford Fund activities. South Australian researchers participating in The Crawford Fund to train agricultural scientists from developing countries through individual scientist visits, workshops and training classes (held both in South Australia and overseas) will benefit from the increased opportunities for developing scientific and economic links with many countries in our region. A brochure summarising our activities is available here.

Crawford Fund Student Awards

As part of our efforts to support and encourage the next generation in study, careers and volunteering in international agricultural research, the Crawford Fund proudly supports our Student Awards. Our Student Awards have been developed specifically to enable university students with practical, feet-on-the-ground, involvement in an overseas project as part of their studies. 

International Agricultural Research

The Fund’s South Australian committee supports South Australian institutions and scientists to deliver training that benefits those involved in both developing countries and Australia. See the link below to read more.

SA Crawford Fund Scholars: Annual Conference 2022

Each year, the Crawford Fund Committees offer Conference Scholarships for students and young researchers to attend the annual conference. The Scholarship provides funds to cover expenses such as travel, accommodation and registration.

We’re excited to announce our bumper crop of 46 2022 Annual Conference scholarship winners from universities and organisations across Australia, and for the first time, special guest scholars from Papua New Guinea! This takes our conference scholar alumni to almost 370 young students and researchers and industry representatives with an interest in reshaping agriculture to better address food security, the nutritional needs of a growing population, and the environment.

The 2022 conference scholars from SA are listed below. 

  • Troy Miller, Flinders University
  • Isabelle Oude-Egberink, Biosecurity SA, Department of Primary Industries and Regions
  • Hayley Pfeifer, The University of Adelaide
  • Isabelle Thomas, The Adelaide University
Our four 2022 SA Conference Scholars (L to R) Troy Miller, Isabelle Oude-Egberink, Hayley Pfeifer and Isabelle Thomas are here with two SA Committee Members (L to R) Glen Weir and Jane Greenslade and SA Coordinator Roger Wickes

SA Committee in the News