ACT Committee


The Fund’s Australian Capital Territory Program was established in 2006. Its location in Canberra provides a great opportunity to work with several Departments and Agencies of the Australian Government including ACIAR – and with a number of the peak bodies that are part of the Australian agricultural, forestry and fisheries industries. The organisation also has access to eminent researchers in scientific organisations and universities based in the nation’s capital.

The geographic focus of the Program is Papua New Guinea, Pacific Island countries and East Timor. Training activities in other countries are supported on a case-by-case basis. These activities reflect Canberra’s strength in research on forestry, agricultural policy, economics, molecular biology, entomology natural resources management and national regulation of agricultural matters such as quarantine, water and GM crop releases. A brochure summarising our activities is available here.

2020 Crawford Fund ACT Student Awards

As part of our efforts to support and encourage the next generation in study, careers and volunteering in international agricultural research, the Crawford Fund proudly supports our 2020 Student Awards.  Our Student Awards have been developed specifically to enable university students with practical, feet-on-the-ground, involvement in an overseas project as part of their studies.

In the ACT, applications are invited from honours and postgraduate students interested in gaining international agricultural research experience in developing countries. Reports from previous awardees are linked on this page.

We strongly recommend you read this general background information before you start your online application. The short online application form will require you to attach a brief CV, the signatures of, or a supporting note from, the Authorised Officers approving your application, and details of at least one referee. Your health and safety are paramount to us so you will be asked to provide details of relevant arrangements for this purpose too.

The closing date for all awards is Friday, 3 April 2020.

Apply online here.

Any questions? Please contact our ACT Coordinator, Dr Tony Fischer. Please email  him initially.


Congratulations to the 22 successful applicants from around Australia who are receiving our 2019 awards to experience international agricultural research and development first hand. The ACT awardee is:

Nadeem Akmal, University of Canberra
Location: Nepal
Research: Contribution of Information Communication Technologies in smart practices of agriculture, climate smart agriculture.
Institute: International Centre for Integrated Mountain Development

ACT Committee in the News

ACT Crawford Fund Scholars: 2019 Annual Conference

Each year, the Crawford Fund Committees offer Conference Scholarships for students and young researchers to attend the annual conference. The Scholarship provides funds to cover expenses such as travel, accommodation and registration.

We’re excited to announce our bumper crop of 51  2019 Annual Conference scholarship winners from universities and organisations across Australia. This takes our conference scholar alumni to almost 320 young students and researchers and industry representatives with an interest in reshaping agriculture to better address food security, the nutritional needs of a growing population, and the environment.

The 2019 conference scholars from the ACT are listed below. You can read about their experiences here.


  • Jordan Cox, Australian National University
  • Madi Hickey, Animal Health Australia
  • Amy Mackenzie, CSIRO Ag & Food
  • Jana Phan, Australian Academy of Science


  • Joanne Lee