NT Travel and Conference Scholarship

May 23, 2017

The Crawford Fund’s Northern Territory Committee invites applications from eligible students for the inaugural Northern Territory Crawford Fund Student Travel Scholarship, which includes a scholarship to our annual conference.

The awards are open to Honours and Postgraduate Students within the Northern Territory who are interested in gaining international agricultural research experience and expertise. Applicants should be in a relevant biophysical or socio‐economic aspect of agriculture, animal production, fisheries, forestry, natural resource management or food security. The projects that the students plan to link with can be governmental, non‐governmental (NGO), commercial, or in association with a university.

The award takes the form of a bursary (up to $3000) and is designed to augment funding from other sources—for example, agricultural research and development assistance projects being undertaken in overseas countries where the students intend to work and gain experience.

The scholarship includes attendance at our annual conference in Canberra from 7-8th August, which provides an opportunity to attend the conference, interact and learn from renowned international and Australian speakers, and to network and be mentored by researchers, academics and policy makers involved in food security. The theme for this year’s conference is “Transforming lives and livelihoods: the digital revolution in agriculture” 

How to apply

Applicants should complete an application form and outline the expected benefits:  benefits of the award could range from stronger linkages in research areas of interest to Northern Territory industry, or to the understanding of the application of technical knowledge to different agricultural systems.

Applications close Monday 26th June 2017 and should be send to Ms Tania Paul ([email protected]), Coordinator for the Northern Territory and awardees will be notified by 7 July 2017.

Click on the links for information about the recently launched New South Wales, Western Australia, South Australia and Tasmania State Committee student awards.

NT students can now follow in the footsteps of travel award recipients from other States, such as Miriam McCormack from the University of Tasmania, see here interviewing a farmer in Vietnam.