Crawford-in-SA Student Awards

January 24, 2017

Applications are now being invited for the inaugural Crawford-in-South Australia International Agricultural Student Awards!

The South Australia Committee of the Crawford Fund is for the first time offering a small number of competitive travel awards for tertiary students. The purpose of the awards is to facilitate active student participation in international agricultural projects, in order to help them gain valuable experience and expertise in developing countries.

SA students can now follow in the footsteps of travel award recipients from other States, such as Miriam McCormack from the University of Tasmania

The awards are open to Honours and Postgraduate Students within South Australia who are interested in gaining international agricultural research experience and expertise. Applicants should be in a relevant biophysical or socio‐economic aspect of agriculture, animal production, fisheries, forestry, natural resource management or food security. The projects that the students plan to link with can be governmental, non‐governmental (NGO), commercial, or in association with a university.

The award takes the form of a bursary (up to $3000) and is designed to augment funding from other sources—for example, agricultural research and development assistance projects being undertaken in overseas countries where the students intend to work and gain experience.

How to Apply

Applicants should complete an application form and outline the expected benefits; benefits of the award could range from stronger linkages in research areas of interest to South Australian industry, to the understanding of the application of technical knowledge to different agricultural systems.

The closing date for award applications is COB Friday, 17 March 2017. Applications should be sent to the South Australian Coordinator for the fund, Mr Roger Wickes, at: [email protected].

Click on the links for information about the recently launched New South Wales, Western Australia and Tasmania State Committee student awards.