Announcing our 2016 Conference Scholars

July 6, 2016

We are pleased to be able to announce the awardees for our 2016 Crawford Fund Conference Scholarships. The response to our competitive scholarships has been tremendous this year and we have an impressive group of young Australians with an interest in the food loss and waste issue, as well as food security more generally.

Since 2010, the Crawford Fund has been supporting young Australians with a keen interest in food security to attend our annual conference and engage in additional activities through our Conference Scholarships. We have had reports back from the scholars on how the experience has helped them in their studies, volunteering and careers in international agricultural research. We have more information about these scholarships online, including reports from previous scholars (view the 2015 scholar reports here), a booklet and a video on our YouTube site.

The Crawford Fund board and 2015 scholars
The Crawford Fund board and 2015 scholars

The response over the years has grown and we now try to encourage others to join with us and support these efforts.

At this stage, 32 scholars are being sponsored to attend this year’s Annual Conference, ‘WASTE NOT, WANT NOT: The Circular Economy to Food Security’. The 2016 scholars will attend the Sir John Crawford Memorial Address, the conference presentations and our special Crawford Fund Scholars’ Days. Prior to the event, each scholar will be matched with a mentor who will get to know them a bit better and gain an understanding of their research or interests. They will then do their best to share their wisdom and link their scholar with interesting people in Canberra.

Below you will find the key group to be supported by the Crawford Fund’s State Committees. We are also pleased to announce additional scholars already supported from outside of the Crawford Fund.

We hope to have additional 2016 scholars supported—details about how to do so can be found here. You can also donate to this cause through the conference registration process or via our Donate Online facility.

Drum roll…

This year’s successful scholars are listed under the Crawford Fund State Committee or other institution which is supporting their involvement:

ACT Committee
Shumaila Arif, Charles Sturt University
Nur Bahar, Australian National University
Brittany Dahl, Australian National University
Ross Dennis, Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) Agriculture
Sam Periyannan, CSIRO Agriculture
Jianping Zhang, CSIRO

NSW Committee
Sally Beer, University of New England
Megan Hounslow, University of Western Sydney
Matthew Kolisnyk, The University of Sydney
Luisa Olmo, The University of Sydney
Asher Taccori, University of Wollongong

Qld Committee
Ali Bajwa, The University of Queensland
Tarni Cooper, The University of Queensland
Rebecca Cotton, University of the Sunshine Coast
Aloesi Dakuidreketi, The University of Queensland
Sophie Donatini, The University of Queensland
Chloe English, CSIRO
Tansyn Noble, James Cook University
Alejandro Trujillo-Gonzalez, James Cook University
Yu Zuang, The University of Queensland

Vic Committee
Sophia Callaghan, The University of Melbourne
Thea Camino, The University of Melbourne
Heather Smillie, The University of Melbourne

NT Committee
Gianna Bonis-Profumo, Charles Darwin University

WA Committee
Xixi Li, CSIRO
Olivia Tate, University of Western Australia

SA Committee
Jessica Mackay, University of Adelaide
Maryam Shirmohammadi, University of South Australia

Tas Committee
John Otto, University of Tasmania
Suresh Panta, University of Tasmania
Elya Richardson, University of Tasmania

Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering (ATSE SA Division)
Sara Blake, South Australian Research and Development Institute (SARDI)
Anh Pham, University of Adelaide

Elanco Animal Health
Jemma Seyfang, University of Adelaide

Marcus Oldham
Pete Orrell, Marcus Oldham College