2017 Conference Scholars

The Digital Revolution in Agriculture

7-8 August 2017, Canberra

Conference Home
Topic Overview
Sir John Crawford Address
Conference Program
Speakers and Chairs
Keynote Listeners
Conference Scholars
Conference & Scholar Sponsors
Conference Media

2017 Conference Scholars

We are continuing our successful conference scholarships to encourage young people in their study, careers and volunteering in international agricultural research.

Scholarships are offered to young Australians with a genuine interest in international agricultural development, to attend the Crawford Fund conference in Canberra.

Former conference scholars confirm this is a unique learning, networking and mentoring opportunity. The scholars are involved in two ½ days of activities in addition to the conference; engage with keynote speakers, experienced Australian agricultural researchers and educators, and other passionate young people who have experience overseas in developing countries as researchers, volunteers or mentors.

Since the program started in 2010, we have had more than 175 scholars participate. You can hear some of the scholars being interviewed from our 2016 conference in the video below.



To help us in our efforts, the Crawford Fund is offering delegates the opportunity to donate additional funds, above their registration fees, for this purpose.

Alternatively you may like to nominate and support a particular individual for the conference scholarship program. If so, please contact:

Ms Cathy Reade
Director, Public Affairs and Communication
[email protected]
0413 575 934

Individuals, organisations or companies that opt to make a donation will be listed in the conference proceedings, should they wish.

Thank you for any assistance you can provide for our efforts encouraging young Australians and harnessing their passion in international agricultural research.

Below you’ll find the group of 24 to be supported by the Crawford Fund’s State Committees. We are also pleased to announce an additional 24 scholars supported from outside of the Crawford Fund by our Scholar Sponsors.

This year’s successful scholars are listed under the Crawford Fund State Committee or other institution which is supporting their involvement:

ACT Committee
Raghvendra Sharma, CSIRO Agriculture & Food
Kathy Dibley, CSIRO Agriculture & Food
Kylie Ireland, CSIRO

NSW Committee
Bhakti Haldankar, The University of Sydney
Sam Coggins, The University of Sydney
Samuel Ariong, University of Newcastle

NT Committee
Maddison Clonan, Charles Sturt University
Kimberley Hunnam, Charles Darwin University

QLD Committee
Sarah Sutcliffe, James Cook University
John Fasi, University of Queensland
Fynn De Daunton, University of Queensland
Lydia O’Meara, Central Queensland University

SA Committee
Chandnee Ramkissoon, The University of Adelaide
Yanchen Zhang, The University of Adelaide

TAS Committee
Kristy Stevenson, University of Tasmania
Oliver Gales, University of Tasmania
Sohail Ayyaz, Tasmanian Institute of Agriculture, University of Tasmania

VIC Committee
Melanie Addinsall, Agriculture Victoria
Sophie Lamond, University of Melbourne
Helena Smith, Agriculture Victoria
Natasha Brohier, La Trobe University

WA Committee
Sara Hyde, Facey Group Inc.
Bob (Xin) Du, Murdoch University
Ana Manero Ruiz, Australian National University

Australian Animal Health Laboratory (AAHL) CSIRO
Linjun Jing, The University of Melbourne
Salman Sarwar, The University of Queensland
Joseph Macharia, Queensland University of Technology

Australian Agricultural and Resource Economics Society (AARES) QLD
Alisher Ergashev, Queensland Department of Agriculture and Fisheries

Central Queensland University (CQU)
Paramullage Upamali Sandaruwan Peiris, Central Queensland University
Julie-Ann Malan, Central Queensland University
Kirt Hainzer, Central Queensland University

Graham Centre for Agricultural Innovation, Charles Sturt University (CSU)
Cara Wilson, Charles Sturt University – Graham Centre for Agricultural Innovation
Arundhita Bhanjdeo, Charles Sturt University – Graham Centre for Agricultural Innovation

Deakin University
David Giles, Deakin University
Victoria Stead, Deakin University

Elanco Animal Health
Elsa Glanville, Mackinnon Project, University of Melbourne
Natalie Hoskins, Western Sydney University

Fifth Estate
Timothy Mort, Fifth Estate

The Gardiner Foundation
Molly Voss, The University of Melbourne
Ruchika Perera, The University of Melbourne

Marcus Oldham
James Hawkins, Marcus Oldham
Jennifer Scott, Marcus Oldham

University of Melbourne
Cecilia Cameron, The University of Melbourne

University of the Sunshine Coast
Ngoc Hoan Le, University of the Sunshine Coast
Flavia Sarti Bonora, University of the Sunshine Coast

University of New England
Zelalem Moti, University of New England
Thi Hiep Dao, University of New England

Tasmanian Institute of Agriculture – University of Tasmania
Tahseen Zeb, TIA, UTas