The Agriculture, Food, Nutrition, Health Nexus

13-14 August 2018, Canberra

Conference Home
Topic Overview
Sir John Crawford Address
Conference Program
Speakers and Chairs
Keynote Listeners
Conference Scholars
Conference & Scholar Sponsors
Conference Media
Registration Fees

Speakers and Chairs

Our 2018 conference speakers and chairs are listed below with biographical details. Their address abstracts and presentations have been added where available.

The Hon Julie Bishop MP
Minister for Foreign Affairs
The Hon John Anderson AO
Chair of the Crawford Fund
Ms Frances Adamson
Secretary, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Australian Government
Dr Alessandro Demaio
Chief Executive Officer, Eat Foundation and co-host of the ABC television show Ask the Doctor
Dr Jessica Fanzo
Co-chair of the Global Nutrition Report; Senior Nutrition and Food Systems Officer, UN FAO; and Bloomberg Distinguished Professor, Johns Hopkins University
Prof Andrew Campbell
Chief Executive Officer, Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research (ACIAR)
Dr Anna Okello
Associate Research Programme Manager, Livestock Systems, ACIAR
Joanna Kane-Potaka
Assistant Director General, External Relations, International Crops Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics (ICRISAT), and Executive Director, Smart Food
Dr Marco Wopereis
Director General, World Vegetable Center
Professor Glenn Denning
Professor of Professional Practice, School of International and Public Affairs, Columbia University and Earth Institute
Tania Paul
Horticulture Team Leader and Research Fellow, Charles Darwin University and Crawford Fund Northern Territory Committee Coordinator
Philmah Seta Waken
Agronomist, Papua New Guinea National Agricultural Research Institute and Masters Candidate in Agricultural Science with an ACIAR John Dillon Fellowship at the University of Queensland
Annie Major
Senior Manager, Adam Smith International, Asia Pacific
Dr Jessica Bogard
Nutrition Systems Scientist, CSIRO
Dr Shamia Chowdhury
Nutrition Specialist, WorldFish
Associate Professor Alex Johnson
School of BioSciences, Faculty of Science, University of Melbourne
Rebecca Boustead
Head of Corporate Communications, Government Relations and Public Affairs, Kellogg Asia Pacific
Professor Robyn Alders AO
Professor of Food and Nutrition, School of Life and Environmental Sciences, University of Sydney
Dr Mario Herrero
Chief Research Scientist at CSIRO Agriculture and Food
Professor Maggie Gill
Chair of the Independent Science & Partnership Council, CGIAR
Dr Sarah Pearson
Chief Innovation Officer, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
Malcolm Thompson
Deputy Secretary, Department of Agriculture and Water Resources