Addressing the Agriculture, Energy, Water, Climate Change Nexus

12-13 August 2019, Canberra

Speakers and Chairs

Our 2019 conference speakers and chairs are listed below with biographical details. Their address abstracts and presentations have been added where available.

The Hon John Anderson AO

Chair of the
Crawford Fund


Professor Andrew Campbell

Chief Executive Officer, Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research (ACIAR)


Professor Ross Garnaut AC

Professor of Economics at the University of Melbourne, Former Chairman of the Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research (ACIAR) and of the International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI)

Professor Sir Charles Godfray FRS

Director, Oxford Martin School,
Oxford University


Dr Bruce Campbell

Program Director, CGIAR Research Program on Climate Change,
Agriculture & Food Security


Professor Alice Joan G. Ferrer

Professor, Division of Social Sciences,
University of the Philippines Visayas


Dr Di Mayberry

Senior Research Scientist,
CSIRO and member of RAID Network


Dr Ajay Mathur

Director General, The Energy and Resources Institute and Member of the Indian Prime Minister’s Council on Climate Change


Jim Woodhill

Food Systems Advisor, Sustainable Development Investment Portfolio of DFAT’s South Asia Regional Program


Dr Oudom Phonekhampheng

Vice President,
National University of Laos


Dr Aditi Mukherji

Principal Researcher,
International Water Management Institute


Ângela Manjichi

General Director for Academics and Research, Dept of Agriculture, Instituto Superior Politécnico de Manica, Mozambique (by video link)


Marc Noyce

Chief Executive Officer,
Biofilta Pty Ltd


Sarah Barker

Special Counsel Climate Risk Governance,
Minter Ellison


Professor Timothy G. Reeves FTSE

The Crawford Fund Board, Professor in Residence, Dookie Campus, FVAS, University of Melbourne and Former Director General of CIMMYT, Mexico

Dr Colin Chartres

Chief Executive Officer
The Crawford Fund